Articulation du genou : 

Ligaments et surfaces articulaires

Cette illustration est une étude observationnelle réalisée à partir d'un spécimen anatomique du Musée Grant de l’Université de Toronto dans le cadre du cours d'anatomie générale du programme de communications biomédicales. De multiples atlas anatomiques ont été consultés pour idéaliser le spécimen de 90 ans qui a servi de référence primaire. Cette pièce vise à communiquer les ligaments et les surfaces articulaires de l'articulation du genou humain en flexion.

Clients : Prof Dave Mazierski

Public Cible : étudiants de premier cycle

Format : imprimé (manuel scolaire)

Médium: Adobe Photoshop, Adobe Illustrator

Date: janvier 2018

Processus de travail

Cette pièce a commencé avec une illustration de l'articulation tibiofémorale et des ligaments associés ; la fibula a été inclus pour démontrer l'attachement distal du ligament latéral collatéral. Un premier croquis de ce joint a été réalisé à partir de l'observation d'un spécimen conservé dans Grant’s Museum. Apres quelques réflexions, j'ai décidé d'illustrer l'ensemble de l'articulation du genou et de réaliser une deuxième itération du croquis, qui inclut la patella et les ligaments associés.

Après avoir terminé un croquis satisfaisant, j'ai vectorisé le dessin dans Illustrator et fait le rendu dans Photoshop. Le rendu a été modifié à partir des commentaires du Prof Mazierski et en consultation avec plusieurs références anatomiques de l'atlas. Une attention particulière a été accordée à la texture des surfaces articulaires et à la relation entre les surfaces articulaires et l'os. Ce processus de raffinement a engendré le produit final montré au sommet de la page.

Références

1. Agur, A. M. R., & Dalley, A. F. (2009). Grant’s Atlas of Anatomy (12th ed.). Lippincott Williams & Wilkins.

2. Hansen, J. T. (2010). Netter’s Clinical Anatomy (2nd ed.). Philadelphia, Pennsylvania: Saunders.

3. Schuenke, M., Schulte, E., & Schumacher, U. (2010). Atlas of Anatomy: General Anatomy and Musculoskeletal System. (L. M. Ross & E. D. Lamperti, Eds.). New York: Thieme.

  • White LinkedIn Icon
  • White Instagram Icon

© Julia Devorak 2019

Knee Joint: 

Ligaments and Articular Surfaces

This illustration is an observational study created from an anatomical specimen in Grant's Museum (University of Toronto) as part of the gross anatomy course in the Biomedical Communications program. Multiple anatomical atlases were consulted to idealize the 90 year old specimen that served as primary reference. This piece aims to communicate the ligaments and articular surfaces of the human knee joint in flexion.

Clients: Prof. Dave Mazierski

Audience: undergraduate students

Format: print (textbook)

Medium: Adobe Photoshop, Adobe Illustrator

Date: January 2018

Process work

This piece began as an illustration of the tibiofemoral joint and associated ligaments; the fibula was included to show the distal attachment of the lateral collateral ligament. An initial sketch of this joint was drafted from observation of a formalin-preserved specimen in Grant's Museum. After some consideration, I decided to illustrate the entire knee joint, and I created a second iteration of the sketch, which included the patella and associated ligaments

 

Upon completion of a satisfactory sketch, I vectorized the drawing in Illustrator and rendered in Photoshop. Rendering was refined based on feedback from Prof. Mazierski and in consultation with multiple anatomical atlas references. Particular attention was given to the texture of the articular surfaces and the relationship of articular surfaces and bone. This process of refinement lead to the final product shown at the top of the page.

References

1. Agur, A. M. R., & Dalley, A. F. (2009). Grant’s Atlas of Anatomy (12th ed.). Lippincott Williams & Wilkins.

2. Hansen, J. T. (2010). Netter’s Clinical Anatomy (2nd ed.). Philadelphia, Pennsylvania: Saunders.

3. Schuenke, M., Schulte, E., & Schumacher, U. (2010). Atlas of Anatomy: General Anatomy and Musculoskeletal System. (L. M. Ross & E. D. Lamperti, Eds.). New York: Thieme.

‚Äč

  • White LinkedIn Icon
  • White Instagram Icon

© Julia Devorak 2019