Production, circulation et drainage

Liquide cérébro-spinal :

Ce manuel de deux pages est le résultat d'un effort collaboratif entre trois étudiants du cours de neuroanatomie du programme Biomedical Communications. Pour ce projet de groupe, un modèle et une palette de couleurs préétablis ont été suivis, et un environnement de travail en studio a été émulé, chaque membre de l'équipe prenant en charge une étape différente de l'exécution. Mon rôle comprenait la conceptualisation et la conception des illustrations, la mise en page et la composition du texte. Les illustrations ont ensuite été vectorisées par Jenny et rendues par Felix. Le but de cette étude est de communiquer les principaux aspects anatomiques et physiologiques du liquide céphalorachidien à l'échelle moléculaire, tissulaire et systémique. Œuvre disponible en anglais seulement.

Clients: Prof Dave Mazierski, Prof Shelley Wall

Public cible : étudiants de premier cycle

Format : imprimé (manuel scolaire)

Médium: Adobe Photoshop, Adobe Illustrator

Date: avril 2018

Illustration finale

Les premiers croquis ont été rédigés à l’aide de multiples références visuelles, y compris des atlas neuroanatomiques et des modèles anatomiques. L'illustration circulation-drainage a commencé en tant que vue canonique du milieu du cerveau. Cependant, cette stratégie de visualisation ne communiquait pas adéquatement la forme des ventricules et l'espace qu'ils occupent. Étant donné que les points de vue obliques représentent plus efficacement l'espace et la forme, une vue antérolatérale a été adoptée dans les itérations qui ont suivi. La deuxième itération ne portait que sur le système ventriculaire gauche. Toutefois, après avoir consulté Profs Mazierski et Wall, le système ventriculaire droit fut finalement inclus dans le croquis final.

Références

1. Agur, A. M. R., & Dalley, A. F. (2009). Grant’s Atlas of Anatomy (12th ed.). Lippincott Williams & Wilkins.

2. Crossman, A. R., & Neary, D. (2015). Neuroanatomy: An Illustrated Colour Text (5th edition). Churchill Livingstone.

3. Fujii, T., Youssefzadeh, J., Novel, M., & Neman, J. (2016). Chapter 1 – Introduction to the Ventricular System and Choroid Plexus. In The Choroid Plexus and Cerebrospinal Fluid (pp. 1–13). Elsevier Inc. https://doi.org/10.1016/B978-0-12-801740-1/00001-9

4. Lun, M. P., Monuki, E. S., & Lehtinen, M. K. (2015). Development and functions of the choroid plexus-cerebrospinal fluid system. Nature Reviews Neuroscience, 16(8), 445–457. https://doi.org/10.1038/nrn3921

5. Nolte, J. (1993). The Human Brain: An Introduction to its Functional Anatomy (3rd ed.). St. Louis, Missouri: Mosby-Year Book, Inc.

6. Speake, T., Whitwell, C., Kajita, H., Majid, A., & Brown, P. D. (2001). Mechanisms of CSF secretion by the choroid plexus. Microscopy Research and Technique, 52(1), 49–59. https://doi.org/10.1002/1097-0029(20010101)52:1<49::AID-JEMT7>3.0.CO;2-C

Circulation et drainage du LCS
Production de LCS

Plusieurs stratégies de visualisation ont été envisagées pour décrire la production de LCR au niveau moléculaire. Pour démontrer les gradients osmotiques et électrochimiques qui sont en jeu, j'ai envisagé de montrer des groupes d'ions et de molécules individuels, ainsi que d'utiliser des symboles pour résumer les informations sur les groupes d'ions et de molécules. Pour le croquis final, j'ai choisi d'utiliser des symboles (flèches de dégradé) car ils créaient un encombrement visuel minimal.

Mise en page

Enfin, plusieurs mises en page ont été envisagées et plusieurs versions du texte ont été rédigées pour les accompagner. Comme cette pièce suivait un style préétabli, la mise en page a été limitée à une page. Il a depuis été modifié en un document de deux pages, qui fournit l'espace nécessaire pour distinguer les détails importants dans l'illustration circulation-drainage (c.-à-d. les couches méningées).

Processus de travail

  • White LinkedIn Icon
  • White Instagram Icon

© Julia Devorak 2019

Production, Circulation, and Drainage

Cerebrospinal Fluid:

This two-page textbook spread is the result of a collaborative effort of three students in the Biomedical Communications neuroanatomy course. For this group project, a pre-determined style guide and colour palette were followed, and a studio environment workflow was emulated, with each team member taking charge of a different stage of execution. My role was the conceptualization and design of the illustrations and layout and the composition of text. Illustrations were then vectorized by Jenny and rendered by Felix. The goal of this spread is to communicate key anatomical and physiological aspects of cerebrospinal fluid at molecular, tissue, and system scales.

Clients: Prof. Dave Mazierski, Prof. Shelley Wall

Audience: undergraduate students

Format: print (textbook)

Medium: Adobe Photoshop, Adobe Illustrator

Date: April 2018

Final artwork

Initial sketches were drafted based on multiple visual references, including neuroanatomical atlases and anatomical models. The circulation-drainage illustration began as a canonical midsagittal view of the brain; however, this visualization strategy did not adequately communicate the form of the ventricles and the space they occupy. In this case, oblique viewpoints more effectively depict space and form, so an anterolateral view was adopted in subsequent iterations. The second iteration contained only the left ventricular system; however, based on consultation with Profs. Mazierski and Wall, the right ventricular system was also included in the final sketch.

References

1. Agur, A. M. R., & Dalley, A. F. (2009). Grant’s Atlas of Anatomy (12th ed.). Lippincott Williams & Wilkins.

2. Crossman, A. R., & Neary, D. (2015). Neuroanatomy: An Illustrated Colour Text (5th edition). Churchill Livingstone.

3. Fujii, T., Youssefzadeh, J., Novel, M., & Neman, J. (2016). Chapter 1 – Introduction to the Ventricular System and Choroid Plexus. In The Choroid Plexus and Cerebrospinal Fluid (pp. 1–13). Elsevier Inc. https://doi.org/10.1016/B978-0-12-801740-1/00001-9

4. Lun, M. P., Monuki, E. S., & Lehtinen, M. K. (2015). Development and functions of the choroid plexus-cerebrospinal fluid system. Nature Reviews Neuroscience, 16(8), 445–457. https://doi.org/10.1038/nrn3921

5. Nolte, J. (1993). The Human Brain: An Introduction to its Functional Anatomy (3rd ed.). St. Louis, Missouri: Mosby-Year Book, Inc.

6. Speake, T., Whitwell, C., Kajita, H., Majid, A., & Brown, P. D. (2001). Mechanisms of CSF secretion by the choroid plexus. Microscopy Research and Technique, 52(1), 49–59. https://doi.org/10.1002/1097-0029(20010101)52:1<49::AID-JEMT7>3.0.CO;2-C

CSF circulation & drainage
CSF production

Several visualization strategies were considered for the depiction of CSF production at the molecular level. To show the osmotic and electrochemical gradients in play, I considered showing groups of individual ions and molecules, as well as using symbols to summarize information about groups of ions and molecules. For the final sketch, I opted to use symbols (gradient arrows) as they created minimal visual clutter.

Layout

Finally, several page layouts were considered, and multiple versions of text were drafted to accompany them. As this piece followed a pre-determined style sheet, the layout was restricted to one page. It has since been moved into a two-page spread, which provides the necessary space to distinguish important details in the circulation-drainage illustration (i.e. the meningeal layers).

Process work

  • White LinkedIn Icon
  • White Instagram Icon

© Julia Devorak 2019